Tag Archives: Music

Switchfoot live in Manila 2011.

30 Apr

Among all the alternative/rock bands that I like, Switchfoot has gotta be my favorite. Good thing they decided to go back here in Manila after their last visit 4 years ago. (Wasn’t able to watch that one)

Been waiting for the concert since February when I first read they were stopping by the Philippines as part of their Hello Hurricane album promotion. Good thing I got discounted tickets! (2 for the price of one! Courtesy of Beeconomic.com)

We arrived at the Philsports Arena (formerly ULTRA) at around 7pm. Went in line to claim our tickets right away. (waited in line for 30 minutes) The gates opened passed 7:30pm.

Everyone eager to get inside!

The show started at around 8:30pm. The front act was Imago who sung 3 of their songs. Bummer as I didn’t know any of their songs. They were nice to listen to by the way.

Front act: Imago. They played Akap, Sundo and Effect Desired None.

Switchfoot then formally kicked off the concert with The Sound. The crowd went wild! It was all good music from then on. They played 14 of their songs, which was a mixture of old and new. They exited the stage after their last song We Are One Tonight then went back for another 3 song encore.

One of the concert highlight was when when vocalist Jon Foreman asked for the lights to be turned off. The whole place looked as if it was filled with fireflies.

Then Jon asked everyone to simultaneously take a picture. The whole arena was filled with flashes from thousands of cameras.

Simultaneous camera flashes!

Jon also went down the stage and onto the the ringside to be with the fans as he was singing The Shadow Proves the Sunshine. Also, Jon said something like “I thank you (the Philippines) for giving me one of my best friends, Jerome Fontamillas”. Jerome was born here in the Philippines!

It was definitely a great night. Kudos and more power to Switchfoot! Thank you for coming over and giving us a great show!

Here’s the setlist:

  1. The Sound
  2. Stars
  3. Bullet Soul
  4. Gone
  5. Your Love is a Song
  6. Free
  7. Always
  8. Awakening
  9. Meant to Live
  10. Mess of Me
  11. Learning to Breathe
  12. This is Home
  13. We Are One Tonight – The Shadow Proves the Sunshine


  1. Only Hope
  2. Hello Hurricane
  3. Dare You to Move

Switchfoot is Jon Foreman (vocals/guitar), Tim Foreman (bass), Chad Butler (drums), Jerome Fontamillas (keys/guitar) and Drew Shirley (guitar).


The awesome music mashups of DJ Earworm.

8 Jan
DJ Earworm DJ Earworm DJ Earworm DJ Earworm DJ...

I love music! I listen to music everytime I have the chance. That’s why I fell in love with iPods. (but that’s a different story.) I also try to listen and appreciate different music genres as much as I can. I simply love music.

My sister introduced me to this DJ who has done some incredible remixes and mashups. I’m really not a fan of DJs but this one is different. Meet DJ Earworm. Here’s how he describes what he does: Basically, what I do is take a bunch of songs apart and put them back together again in a different way. I end up with tracks called mashups, which I post to [this] website. I personally love his year end mashups which are remixes of the top songs of the year. The most awesome part of it is, he even makes a music video to go with it! How cool is that? Here’s his latest work, United State of Pop 2010 (Don’t Stop the Pop).

To listen, watch and download DJ Earworm’s work, head to his website at DJEarworm.com

Happy listening!

Got my Exile From Mainstream CD!

25 Oct

I like music and I’m a big fan of Matchbox Twenty. I have this habit of discovering old bands and songs. Matchbox had been around for quite some time. I remember listening to some of their songs a few years back but it wasn’t until now that I’ve appreciated them as a whole.

For those who don’t know them, they’re lead by vocalist Rob Thomas who sang for Santana in the ever popular song, Smooth. Matchbox Twenty was behind the hits Push, Unwell, If You’re Gone, Bent, 3am, Disease and Bright Lights. Exile On Mainstream is their current album featuring 7 new songs plus 10 classic hits.

  1. How Far We’ve Come
  2. I’ll Believe You When
  3. All Your Reasons
  4. These Hard Times
  5. If I Fall
  6. Can’t Let You Go
  7. Long Day
  8. Push
  9. 3 am
  10. Real World
  11. Back 2 Good
  12. Bent
  13. If You’re Gone
  14. Mad Season
  15. Disease
  16. Unwell
  17. Bright Lights

For starters, you might want to listen to their classics such as Push, Unwell and Downfall. My current favorite is How Far We’ve Come. Boyce Avenue already did an acoustic cover so you also might want to check that out.

If you love a song, then support its artists by buying their CD. And I mean their ORIGINAL CD. Downloaded/burned music is stealing. Period. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a thief myself (music thief, that is) but I make it an effort to support my favorite bands/artists by buying their works. I could go on ranting about piracy but let’s save it for another day. Next on my wish list: Maroon 5’s Hands All Over album.

%d bloggers like this: