Tag Archives: Bullet Soul

Switchfoot live in Manila 2011.

30 Apr

Among all the alternative/rock bands that I like, Switchfoot has gotta be my favorite. Good thing they decided to go back here in Manila after their last visit 4 years ago. (Wasn’t able to watch that one)

Been waiting for the concert since February when I first read they were stopping by the Philippines as part of their Hello Hurricane album promotion. Good thing I got discounted tickets! (2 for the price of one! Courtesy of Beeconomic.com)

We arrived at the Philsports Arena (formerly ULTRA) at around 7pm. Went in line to claim our tickets right away. (waited in line for 30 minutes) The gates opened passed 7:30pm.

Everyone eager to get inside!

The show started at around 8:30pm. The front act was Imago who sung 3 of their songs. Bummer as I didn’t know any of their songs. They were nice to listen to by the way.

Front act: Imago. They played Akap, Sundo and Effect Desired None.

Switchfoot then formally kicked off the concert with The Sound. The crowd went wild! It was all good music from then on. They played 14 of their songs, which was a mixture of old and new. They exited the stage after their last song We Are One Tonight then went back for another 3 song encore.

One of the concert highlight was when when vocalist Jon Foreman asked for the lights to be turned off. The whole place looked as if it was filled with fireflies.

Then Jon asked everyone to simultaneously take a picture. The whole arena was filled with flashes from thousands of cameras.

Simultaneous camera flashes!

Jon also went down the stage and onto the the ringside to be with the fans as he was singing The Shadow Proves the Sunshine. Also, Jon said something like “I thank you (the Philippines) for giving me one of my best friends, Jerome Fontamillas”. Jerome was born here in the Philippines!

It was definitely a great night. Kudos and more power to Switchfoot! Thank you for coming over and giving us a great show!

Here’s the setlist:

  1. The Sound
  2. Stars
  3. Bullet Soul
  4. Gone
  5. Your Love is a Song
  6. Free
  7. Always
  8. Awakening
  9. Meant to Live
  10. Mess of Me
  11. Learning to Breathe
  12. This is Home
  13. We Are One Tonight – The Shadow Proves the Sunshine


  1. Only Hope
  2. Hello Hurricane
  3. Dare You to Move

Switchfoot is Jon Foreman (vocals/guitar), Tim Foreman (bass), Chad Butler (drums), Jerome Fontamillas (keys/guitar) and Drew Shirley (guitar).

%d bloggers like this: