The Work Dilemma.

12 Jan

Yesterday marks my 1st year anniversary at my current work. I joined the company January 11, 2010 and do back office work. Back office meaning, I don’t talk to customers directly unlike when I was a customer service representative. Looking back, I can see how I dreaded almost every job I’m in. Always wanting a new one with better pay, schedule or perks.

After college, I was stuck at home without a job. Since I didn’t “need” one right away, I wasted the entire 2008 trying to find a job I would like. (also the year when I started blogging) But I was inexperienced. Heck, I couldn’t even speak straight English!

Stolen moneys

Image by K@ja via Flickr (no, those are not my hands.)

Eventually, I had to find a job and fortunately, a friend at church offered a part-time job as tutor for Koreans. I figured, why not? So I took it. I never lasted a month. I hated my boss/business owner. (well what do you know, the other employees hate the boss too!) I went freelance and taught for a couple months more. The pay sucks and I eventually got tired. Got to find a “real” job I told myself. So off I went.

Went to a couple of Business Process Outsourcing (OK, call center! Yan, happy?) companies and applied. Got job offers from all but went for the best. They call themselves The Best Place to Work anyway. Started October 2008 and I loved it. For the next 6 months anyway. After half a year, the job was dragging me. I hate being blamed for something I didn’t do and I was experiencing it 8 hours a day, 5 days a week (not to mention overtime). We were handling local credit card customer service so you can just feel the pressure of super demanding customers. Everything from unavailable balance to fraudulent transactions we handled. (Wait, am I supposed to talk about this here? Isn’t this breach of contract? What the heck.) Come my 11th month, I was at the breaking point. I need a job that doesn’t involve talking and listening to customer’s complaints.

I was referred to another BPO-slash-contact center-slash-bank. Went there and applied and was offered a back office post and a little raise. That time, I don’t care if I get a raise on my salary or not. I just wanted to get off the phone. I think most call center agents will agree with me on this. Five days before induction, I resigned from my previous company, rested for a week, then started working. A year passed and I’m still here.

I’m starting to feel anxious and weary again. I want another job. I want a raise, a different schedule, a cool workstation. I want perks and incentives. Looking back, I remember myself trying to desperately earn while commuting to and fro between my Korean students. I remember trying to budget a measly Php3,000 for 15 days. I remember walking more than a kilometer looking for a jeep ride home. I remember being disrespected by rowdy students. I remember wanting more.

Now I tell myself, not bad. Not bad at all. Lesson learned? Learn to appreciate and be content. Plus, the grass is always (and I mean always!) greener on the other side of the fence. Thank God I have a job. =)

4 Responses to “The Work Dilemma.”

  1. Juana January 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Oh my! I feel exactly the same! and I’m not a career-driven person, I guess it’s why I enjoy being a wife and mom so much– it’s my true calling. 🙂

  2. Max Miller January 13, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Good for you! Lucky husband and kids! =)

  3. jeremy January 13, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    like me

  4. odeegulmatico February 16, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    BPO = dragging. Yeah, tell me about it. i’m a call center agent and i’m fed up. it keeps food in the table, but the mental stress–i couldn’t wait to get off the phone every shift! the sad thing is i still dunno what i really wanna do so i’m kinda stuck.

    congrats on finding joy with your present job^_^

Leave a Reply

