Should you still celebrate someone’s birthday after they’re gone?

7 Jan
Candle light

Image by Alesa Dam via Flickr

Today is my dad’s birthday. We are always confused as to who celebrates this day because my sister was born on the 8th. It took me half my lifetime to remember that dad’s birthday happens first before my sis’.

Sad because my dad passed away about 2 years ago.

My question is, should you or do you still celebrate someone’s birthday even if they’re gone? Do you think its pointless? Why celebrate when you can’t add a year to the celebrant’s age anymore? Why celebrate when the celebrant is gone?

I’ll tell you why. Celebrate because on this date, someone was born and shared his or her life to you. We are here on earth for but a brief moment. So cherish not only what you have but also what you had. Its still sad that dad can’t be physically present to celebrate his birthday with us. The only condolence I have is that he’s done with all the pain and miseries of this world.

Happy birthday Dad! We love you and miss you so much! Rest in peace.

5 Responses to “Should you still celebrate someone’s birthday after they’re gone?”

  1. Juana January 7, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your, Dad! And I don’t think it’s pointless. It makes family ties stronger and of course it brings back good memories. 🙂

    • Max Miller January 7, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      Well said. =D

  2. Killdain January 7, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I was told by a platoon sergeant one day, when I was down over the remembrance of a fall’in brother. “Celebrate him in death, as you did in life”. I hope this helps because it did me.

  3. Judy Marie Santiago January 10, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Hi,

    I agree that you should still celebrate the birthday of your dad even if he’s already up there. He must be watchin you and it will really make him feel happy if he’ll see that you still remember him on his special day. 🙂 Belated happy birthday to him! 😀

    Judy (I came by thru see.think.create blog!)

    • Max Miller January 10, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks, Judy!

Leave a Reply

