Why does Santa get all the credit?

16 Dec
Wanted: Santa Claus

Image by kevindooley via Flickr

Who is Santa Claus? Santa Claus, or Saint Nicholas, is of Greek folklore in origin. According to Wikipedia, Santa“, is a figure which was derived from the Dutch figure of Sinterklaas, a historical, legendary figure who in many Western cultures, is said to bring gifts to the homes of the good children during the late evening and overnight hours of Christmas Eve, December 24 or on his Feast Day, December 6 (Saint Nicholas Day).

I don’t know where he got that red and white costume from. But whenever its Christmas, you’ll definitely see these colors abound. For children, Santa means gifts. Parents tell them to “be good” so Santa will reward them with gifts. Some parents ask their children to write a letter to Santa to tell him what they want for Christmas as well as ask them to hang socks where Santa can place his treats.

I use to believe in him too. I remember one Christmas where I wrote to him asking for a Casio Digital Diary. On Christmas day itself, to my surprise, I got none. Ha! Bummer. Then I grew up and learned about the deception. There is really no Santa. He doesn’t come down from chimneys (nasa Pinas po tayo) at Christmas eve to check up on the kids and give them their wishes. Sorry to burst your bubble kids, but he just doesn’t exist.

I watched this show about 2 weeks ago. It was about a child suffering from Cancer along with her financially struggling parents. One time, her mom asked her to write a letter to Santa in case she wanted something for Christmas. The child wrote that she wanted a doll. After reading her letter, her father then went out and tried to sell their TV to have the money to buy the doll so that the girl could “receive” a gift from Santa on Christmas eve.

Why does Santa get all the credit? Why can’t the parents tell their children that the gifts came from them? When I didn’t receive the Digital Diary I wanted, I kinda got mad at my parents for making me hope that Santa would give me what I want. Had they told me that Santa is no such thing, I would’ve understood and asked for something less. Why can’t a dad tell his son that he’s proud of him for being a good boy the whole year and that he got him a bike. Or a mom giving her daughter a doll house because she aced her grades? Parents! Take back the thanks and the praise that should’ve been yours!

Another thing. Santa is, sad to say, more famous than Jesus. He stole the real meaning of Christmas which is not gift giving. Christmas symbolizes the birth of the world’s saviour — Jesus Christ. If you still want Santa in your Christmas, might as well celebrate Santa-mas.

Leave a Reply

